The Phillips Collection


Dr. Dorothy Kosinski is the Vradenburg Director & CEO of The Phillips Collection, where she oversees a staff of 190 and a collection of over 4,000 works of art, ranging from masterpieces of French impressionism and American modernism to contemporary art. Before taking up her post as Director of The Phillips Collection in April 2008, Dr. Kosinski was Senior Curator of Painting and Sculpture at the Dallas Museum of Art. She was also the museum’s Barbara Thomas Lemmon Curator of European Art. Over the course of 30 years in museum work, Kosinski has earned a reputation internationally as an accomplished curator and scholar of 19th and 20th century art, as well as a seasoned professional with broad experience and leadership acumen.

For over 12 years, Dr. Kosinski was based in Basel, Switzerland, where she was a curator, scholar, and university instructor. As curator and administrator of the Douglas Cooper Collection, her scholarly engagement resulted in exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Basel, the Tate Gallery London, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Her versatile scholarship furthermore occasioned major commissions to curate other exhibitions in Basel, Wolfsburg, London, and Prague. During her eight years at the Dallas Museum of Art, her energetic work resulted in over 17 exhibitions, many of which circulated internationally and were accompanied by scholarly catalogues.

In August 2013, Dr. Kosinski was appointed by President Barack Obama to the National Council on the Humanities. In December 2017, she was recognized by the Ambassador of Italy with the Order of the Italian Star, a distinction recognizing her outstanding contributions to the arts and promotion of Italian culture. She currently serves on the Board of the Sherman Fairchild Foundation and the Gwendolyn Morris Cafritz Foundation. Previously, she served on the Board of the Association of Art Museum Directors and the Advisory Board of The Musée Rodin, Paris.

Dr. Kosinski, who received a BA from Yale University and an MA and PhD from the Institute of Fine Arts at New York University, continues to balance her administrative responsibilities with an ambitious program of exhibitions, as well as an energetic schedule as author and lecturer.


George Vradenburg, Honorary Chair, Trustee Emeritus

Dani Levinas, Chair
Lindsay Ellenbogen, Vice Chair
Todd Galaida, Vice Chair
Amy Meadows, Secretary
Kathleen Petitt, Treasurer
Barbara Berish Brown
Susan L. Butler
Jane Chu
John Despres
Alan H. Fleischmann
Julie Garcia
Carol Brown Goldberg
Pamela Gwaltney
Barbara Hall
Bonnie Burke Himmelman
Lynne N. Horning
Paul Killian
Micheline Klagsbrun
Dorothy Kosinski,
ex-officio as Director
Howard Krass
B. Thomas Mansbach
A. Fenner Milton
Sala Patterson
Ronald A. Paul
Harvey Ross
Thomas D. Rutherfoord, Jr
Alice Phillips Swistel
Elizabeth Williams 
Leo E. Zickler

James B. Adler, Trustee Emeritus
C. Richard Belger, Trustee Emeritus
James T. Demetrion, Trustee Emeritus
Jonathan Fineberg, Trustee Emeritus
Gerald W. Fischer, Trustee Emeritus
James F. Fitzpatrick, Trustee Emeritus
Jay Gates, Director Emeritus
J. Roderick Heller III, Trustee Emeritus
Linda Lichtenberg Kaplan, Trustee Emerita
Toni H. Paul, Trustee Emerita
Jennifer Phillips, Trustee Emerita
Richard Thompson, Trustee Emeritus
Alan L. Wurtzel, Trustee Emeritus

Dorothy Kosinski, Vradenburg Director & CEO

Makeba Clay, Chief Diversity Officer

Nehemiah Dixon III, Director of Community Engagement

Angela GillespieDirector of Human Resources

Miriam Magdieli, Chief Communications Officer and Director of Marketing

Cherie Nichols, Chief Financial Officer

Klaus Ottmann, Chief Curator and Deputy Director for Academic Affairs

Wendy Ponvert, Director of Development

Anne Taylor Brittingham, Director of Learning and Education Strategy

Elizabeth Temme, Director of Major Gifts

Darci VanderhoffChief Information Officer

Micha Winkler Thomas, Director of Strategy and Operations

Bridget Zangueneh, Director of Institutional Giving